Cummins’ X12 diesel engine has won a technical achievement award from a truck writers group.

The annual Jim Winsor Memorial Technical Achievement Award was presented Wednesday, March 20, at an awards luncheon during the American Truck Associations Technology and Maintenance Council’s annual meeting at the Georgia World Congress Center in Atlanta.

The Cummins X12’s comparatively low weight, in addition to millions of miles of service in Asia and South America, make it a standout among diesel offerings, Jim Park, chairman of the Awards Committee who writes for Heavy Duty Trucking and Today’s Trucking magazines, said in a news release.

The 11.8-liter X12’s dry weight is 2,050 pounds, 150 to 400 pounds less than 11– to 13–liter competitors, yet it makes up to 500 horsepower and 1,700 pound–feet of torque, according to Cummins.

The X12 went into North American production and became available to customers in 2018. The engine is now an option from Autocar, Freightliner and Western Star.

Cummins won the award twice before, in 2017 for its X15 Efficiency Series diesel, and in 1998 for its Signature 600 diesel. In 2007, Cummins Filtration earned the award for its Fleetguard User Friendly filters.

Columbus, Ind.-based Cummins Inc. designs, manufactures, distributes, and services diesel and natural gas engines, and powertrain–related component products.

Cummins X12 diesel engine

At 2,050 pounds, the Cummins 11.8-liter X12 is lightweight but powerful, with up to 500 horsepower and 1,700 pound-feet of torque. (Photo courtesy Cummins Inc.)

Runners up, past winners

Runners up were the Peterson Pulse electronic system for trailers, the Stemco automatically deploying Trailer Tail, and the Stemco-Webb Trifecta wheel hub.

Last year, the award went to the Hyliion 6x4HE electric auxiliary axle. Austin, Texas–based Hyliion Inc. designs and manufactures suspension systems for semitrailers and the trucking industry that uses technology similar to hybrid passenger vehicles. The systems capture power when a tractor or a trailer slow down and uses it to help power the tractor or trailer up hills and improve fuel savings.

The judging committee included Suzanne Stempinski, contributing field editor for Land Line Magazine, and Tom Berg, who also writes for Land Line.

The award committee and its predecessor, the Truck Writers of North America organization, have presented a technical achievement award annually starting in 1992.

Previous award winners:

  • 2017 – Cummins X15 Efficiency Series diesel
  • 2016 – Eaton Procision Dual–Clutch automatic transmission
  • 2015 – Aperia Technologies’ Halo Tire Inflator
  • 2014 – Mack Twin–Y suspension
  • 2013 – Meritor FuelLite 6×2 tandem
  • 2012 – Volvo XE powertrain
  • 2011 – Bose Ride System
  • 2010 – ArvinMeritor PlatinumShield brake shoes
  • 2009 – Detroit Diesel DD15 engine with turbo compounding
  • 2008 – Michelin Durable Technologies tire
  • 2007 – Cummins Filtration Fleetguard User Friendly filters
  • 2006 – Carrier Transicold Deltek Hybrid Reefer
  • 2005 – ConMet TruTurn brake drum
  • 2004 – Meritor–Wabco anti–rollover system
  • 2003 – Bendix XVision night vision system
  • 2002 – XM Satellite Radio
  • 2001 – ZF Meritor Freedom Line two–pedal automated transmission
  • 2000 – Donaldson Silent Partner muffler
  • 1998 – Cummins Signature 600 diesel
  • 1998 – Eaton Fuller AutoShift transmission
  • 1997 – Rockwell Automotive ESS (Engine Synchro Shift) transmission
  • 1996 – Navistar International 9800 flat–floor cabover
  • 1995 – Caterpillar and Navistar HEUI (hydraulically activated, electronically controlled unit injectors)
  • 1994 – Goodyear G300 tire
  • 1993 – Cummins ESP variable torque engine line
  • 1992 – Grote Industries LED marker lamp

Copyright © OOIDA